Share this page:
Anaesthetics, Intensive Care Medicine and Pain management

Anaesthetics, Intensive Care Medicine and Pain management

Patient Information Leaflets

The department of anaesthetics provides anaesthetic services for a variety of surgical specialities, obstetrics, diagnostic procedures and some medical procedures. This includes providing a twenty-four hour emergency theatre service and a twenty-four hour obstetric anaesthesia service. The department supports the nurse provided pre-assessment service.  There are several high risk pre-anaesthetic assessment clinics including a general clinic, obstetric clinic and paediatric clinic.   There is also a dedicated bariatric anaesthesia clinic. The department provides an acute pain service for inpatients. Other services which come under the department are the Chronic Pain service and the Critical Care service.

Clinicians - Consultants/Specialist Nurses


  • Dr Glyn Harrison
    Consultant/Clinical Director for Anaesthetics
    and Theatres
  • 01582 497232/497230
  • Dr Amit Saxena
    Locum Consultant


Pain Management

Specialist Nurses 
Kelly Warfield - Lead Pain Specialist Nurse
Adrianne Randall - Senior Sister
Deborah Fothergill -Nurse
Hayley Jeeves - Nurse

Nicola Swan – Physiotherapy Lead
Ruth Jenkins
Kesha Dutta
Graham Ives


Dr Judith Friedman – Head of Clinical Psychology
Dr Rebecca Ramsden
Dr Emma Patten

Occupational Therapist

Debbie Clough

Bernadette Sebastian


Useful numbers/contacts- All staff can be contacted via switchboard

Business Manager:
Hannah Synan-Jones
01582 718751

Anaesthetics Office: 
01582 497230

General Manager: 
John Fitzmaurice

Pain Management: 
01582 497232

Clinical Director:
Dr Glyn Harrison

Outpatients booking department:
01582 561385

Switchboard: 01582 491166