Share this page:
Pharmacy and Medicines Optimisation Service

Pharmacy and Medicines Optimisation Service

Patient Information Leaflets

The Pharmacy Department provides medicines optimisation and pharmaceutical services to the Trust ensuring the best treatment for patients and the safe and secure supply of medicines and promotion of cost-effective, evidence-based prescribing.  We encourage patients to bring any ongoing medication into hospital with them to help with a reconciliation of medicines. A patient’s own medicines are kept with the patient in bedside medicine cabinets and, if appropriate, used to ensure continuation of therapy during their in-patient stay.

Procedures Provided

Services Provided:

  • Clinical Pharmacy / medicines optimisation ward based services including medicines reconciliation, prescription review, prescribing advice and information to patients on what to expect from their medicines
  • Pharmacist prescriber clinics
  • Procurement of medicines including difficult to source specials.
  • Distribution of medicines to hospital wards and departments and PCT clinics.
  • Dispensing of medicines to out-patients, in-patients and discharge patients.
  • Medicines Information services to the Trust, GPs and patients.
  • Medicines management activities including drug use review and formulary management.
  • Discharge / Interface support

Useful numbers/contacts - All staff can be contacted via switchboard

Deputy Chief Pharmacist
Chi Kai Tam 
chi-kai.tam@ldh.nhs.uk
01582 491166 (Ext. 2250)

Medicines Use and Quality Lead Pharmacist:
Melanie Whittick - 01582 718048
melanie.whittick@ldh.nhs.uk

Macmillan Oncology Pharmacist: 
Priya Shah - 01582 497368
priya.shah@ldh.nhs.uk 

Chief Pharmacist
Mary Evans
mary.evans@ldh.nhs.uk

Procurement Office:
John Light
john.light@ldh.nhs.uk

Medicines Information:
Julie Phillips - 01582 497114
drug.info@ldh.nhs.uk

Pharmacy Clinical Services Manager:
Peter Seymour
peter.seymour@ldh.nhs.uk

Switchboard:
01582 491166